Who I am, etc.

We’re about a month and a half away from the Bloomsday kickoff of MI:Ulysses.  You might have even noticed the signs plastered around Evanston.  As you hear more about MI:Ulysses, I can imagine you may have some questions about me, the leader of this book group.  I hope my bulleted list answers most of them.

  • My name is Karen.  I’m a librarian at the Evanston Public Library (EPL) and have been working there since the fall of 2009.
  • Although I have led numerous book discussions in the past, I wanted a real challenge – hence, Ulysses.
  • I’ve read The Dubliners and A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, but I’ve failed at my attempts to read Ulysses, each time thrusting it back in its place on the bookshelf in shame and disgust.
  • I have a B.A. in English; therefore, I feel a distinct desire to prove something by finishing Ulysses.  Maybe the accomplishment will even make those student loans feel a little more worthwhile.
  • I like to bite off more than I can chew by taking on momentous tasks.
  • Sometimes I regret taking on those tasks when they get hard or boring, but gosh darn it I’m stubborn, so I’ll finish them one way or another.

Perhaps we share some of the same reasons for wanting to read Ulysses.  If there’s one thing I know, however, it’s that I can’t finish it on my own.  So, for better or for worse, let’s rely on each other for support as we slog through it.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Who I am, etc.

  1. Suzanne Cosgrove

    I read this a very long time ago, but would love to try it again. It was life-changing.

  2. Todd Shuman

    I’ve read “Ulysses” a couple of times, and always enjoy re-visiting it to uncover something new!!

  3. Jeff Marinacci

    I will see you all this evening at the Knot. I have dabbled with the “easier” stuff before, but have never finished those (well, maybe Portrait).

    Am looking forward to sharing the book with others.

Leave a Reply

